Raja Ampat

Situated off the northwest tip of Bird’s Head Peninsula on Papua, the most eastern island of the Indonesian Archipelago.
Local time
03:19 (+7UTC)

Raja Ampat, literally “The Four Kings”, is an archipelago comprising over 1,500 small islands, cays and shoals surrounding the four main islands of Waigeo, Batanta, Salawati and Misool.

The name Raja Ampat itself is believed to derive from a legend according to which a woman found seven eggs, four of which hatched and became the kings of the four main islands. The remaining three became a woman, a ghost and a stone. With all its spectacular wonders, this is the place where words such as enchanting and magical carry real meaning. Discover and dive around Fam Islands, a well-known site for spotting the tasselled Wobbegong shark. This shark is rarely seen outside of Australia and New Guinea. Explore the beautiful island of Batanta, its countless bays lined with unspoilt mangrove forests.

Recommended Itinerary
1. Fam Islands
2. Batanta Island
3. Blue Magic
4. The Passage Dive Site
5. The Dampier Strait
6. Boo Rock / Boo Windows

Fam Islands

Fam Islands’ dive sites are some of the most beautiful spots in Raja Ampat. The whole area is stunning, with its clear turquoise lagoons and deserted beaches. It is close to Kri Island, and the dive spots here have some of the best dive walls and coral gardens. The island is well known for being a great place to spot the tasselled Wobbegong shark. It is rarely seen outside of Australia and New Guinea, but very common in this part of Raja Ampat.
Fam Islands
other destinations
Switch to
Fill form fields and submit please
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.